Skip To Main Content

District 191 employees recognized for excellence

District 191 employees recognized for excellence

Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 staff members and an entire department are being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the One91 community with 2024 Community of Excellence (COE) Awards. 

“I’m so thankful that each of these winners are part of the One91 Community,” said Superintendent Dr. Theresa Battle. “By bringing their uniqueness, passion, knowledge and skills to work every day, they make our schools and programs excellent for students, families and for each other.”

Students, parents, community members and staff members were invited to nominate employees in seven categories. A selection committee that included past recipients reviewed nominations and made selections. The award ceremony to honor COE recipients will begin at 4:45 p.m. on Thursday, April 18, in the Mraz Center at Burnsville High School.

The 2024 One91 COE Award Recipients are:

Collaboration and Partnership

  • Career and Technical Education Teachers at BHS (Michele Carroll, Maggie Mayernik, Erik Shimshock, Russ Tesmer, Orion Patrie, Jonathan Haupt, Heidi Eichten, Gabi Spies, Matt Deutsch, Sandi Holman, Julie West & Anne Werner-Dempsey)

  • Sarah Henrich, special education teacher

Community Engagement

  • Maryan Ali, cultural liaison

Excellence in Educational Support

  • Jessica Meyer, technology support

  • Tyler Music, technology support

Teaching Excellence

  • Mike Sweeney, teacher

  • Hawa Salad, teacher

  • Nancy Meyer, media specialist


  • Dr. Kathy Funston, Director of Strategic Partnerships & Pathways

Leadership in Action

  • Christine McDonald, elementary curriculum coordinator

  • Sarah Noble, associate principal, and Becky Akerson, Associate of Arts program coordinator, Burnsville High School

Spirit of Excellence

  • Christine Haslock, food service associate

Nearly 50 nominations were received for this year’s awards, demonstrating the depth and variety of ways that District 191 staff members support students, families and each other. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated. 

This year’s nominees were: Katie Burke, Amira Gure, Rahima Abdi, John Anderson, Lori Langreck, Cindy Crosbie, Early Childhood Screening Team (Danny O'Brien, Nicole Theis, Sue Schiffman), Christine Fischer McDonald.

Kim Steeg, Vista View Special Education Educational Assistants, Maryan Ali, Shar Lattery, Jean Noss, Jessica Meyer, Nancy Meyer, Harriet Bishop Kindergarten Teaching Team (Tanya Meyer, Stacey Harrold, Brooke Pavek, Ashley Berryman), Sarah Noble and Becky Akerson, Jessie Lau, Career and Technical Education Teachers, Dave Lake, Charline Lazenby, Paul Neseth, Mike Huemoeller, Tracy Smith, Sarah Henrich, Tommy Chantara, Jonalyn Lippka, Christine Haslock, Mike Sweeney, Rebecca Mosseau, Burnsville Cheer Coaches (Angel, Allison, and Kirsten), Sarah Richardson, Tyler Music, Billie Retzlaff, Daniel King, Hawa Salad, Sheryl Droege, RuthAnn Twardoski and Candice Sullivan, Jake Knox and Ryan Walker, Kathy Funston, and Heidi Eichten. 

Read more about the Community of Excellence Awards online at